CFDA awards nominees 2020
Photo by Michael Stewart/WireImage

The Nominees for the 2020 CFDA Awards Are Revealed

The digital awards will kick off NYFW on September 14.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (more commonly known as the CFDA) has today revealed the nominees for the 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards. For the first time, this year’s awards won’t have any honoree awards, however two new international awards have been introduced.

The awards were scheduled to be held on June 8, however due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the event was postponed indefinitely. Now, the CFDA has confirmed the event will go ahead virtually on September 14 instead – marking the official start of New York Fashion Week. Speaking of the shift, Steven Kolb, president and CEO of the organization, said, “In lieu of the in-person event, we will be prioritizing new and existing programming to support our designer community during the global pandemic – by redirecting efforts toward next generation scholarships and making important changes to bring racial equity to the fashion industry. The annual gala serves as our largest fundraiser and our hope is to continue raising money to support this work through industry contributions.”

Discover the 2020 CFDA Awards nominees below:

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Brandon Maxwell
Gabriela Hearst
Marc Jacobs
Tom Ford

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode for Bode
Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss
Thom Browne
Todd Snyder
Tom Ford

American Accessories Designer of the Year

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Gabriela Hearst
Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year

Christoper John Rogers
Kenneth Nicolson
Peter Do
Reese Cooper
Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Global Womenswear Designer of the Year

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Dries Van Noten
Miuccia Prada
Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
Rick Owens

Global Menswear Designer of the Year

Craig Green
Dries Van Noten
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Kim Jones for Dior
Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Catch all the action live on on September 14.

More Style