Photography via

Kim Kardashian West Will Receive the CFDA’s First-Ever Influencer Award

Kim Kardashian West is set to make history when she accepts the CFDA’s first ever Influencer Award on June 4.

CFDA chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg stated, “Over the past decade, Kim Kardashian West has mastered the meaning of influence in the digital age.” With over 200 million followers spanning her various social media platforms, she is known for both her transparency and intimate candidness, continuously drawing followers into her personal life one post at a time.

According to a story published on WWD, Tommy Hilfiger brought up the need to acknowledge influencers and the impact they’ve had on the fashion industry during a CFDA board meeting. “[The board] all agreed that Kim was someone who has really impacted the industry and has changed the way brands are presented. She’s a friend of a lot of the designers and has had great influence on fashion globally,” said CFDA president, Steven Kolb.

Photography via

The strength of her influence was evident when her first KKW fragrance sold out without anyone even knowing what it smelled like before purchasing it. Additionally, she’s an astute businesswoman, who has parlayed her social media following into successful business ventures such as KKW Beauty, KKW Fragrance, Kimoji, Kim Kardashian Hollywood app, and The Kids Supply.

Kim has certainly come a long way from designers not wanting to dress her and previously being banned from The Met Gala. In the words of KKW herself: not bad for a girl with no talent.


Photography via

Here’s a full list of the 2018 CFDA nominees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
Gabriela Hearst
Marc Jacobs
Virgil Abloh for Off-White
Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row

Menswear designer of the Year:
Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
Virgil Abloh for Off-White
James Jebbia for Supreme
Thom Browne
Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year:
Paul Andrew
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Rachel Mansur
Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel
Irene Neuwirth
Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row

Honorary Awards:
Diane von Furstenberg will receive the Swarovski Award for Positive Change
Naomi Campbell will receive the Fashion Icon Award
Donatella Versace will receive the International Award
Kim Kardashian West will receive the Influencer Award
Narciso Rodriguez will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Edward Enninful will receive the Media Award in honour of Eugenia Sheppard
Carolina Herrera will receive the Founder’s Award in honour of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert