met gala 2017 backstage beauty
Photography via Instagram/romyglow

The Best Behind-the-Scenes Beauty Photos from the 2017 Met Gala

The Met Gala may be the biggest night of the year for the fashion crowd, but it’s just as important in the beauty world, too. After all, no ensemble is complete without the right hair and makeup to go with it.

Of course, beauty prep isn’t an easy feat, especially for such a big event. And with this year’s 2017 Met Gala theme paying tribute to Rei Kawakubo and Comme des Garçons, there was a lot of work put into the plenty of bold looks paying homage to the Japanese designer’s avant-garde, conceptual looks.

Check out our fave backstage beauty photos (and videos!) from the 2017 Met Gala below:

Katy Perry

Selena Gomez

Emily Ratajkowski

Cara Delevingne

CARA! Final touches on @caradelevingne for #metgala @chanelofficial @rimmellondonus

A post shared by Romy Soleimani (@romyglow) on

Lily Collins

Chrissy Teigen

Bella Hadid

Gigi Hadid

Hailey Baldwin

Katie Holmes

Patrician beauty #KatieHolmes minutes before the #MetKawakubo Gala

A post shared by Christopher Niquet (@christopherniquet) on

Jessica Chastain

Taylor Hill

? MET GALA @taylor_hill . @houseofherrera . @daniellepriano . @patrickta . @lancomeofficial

A post shared by Patrick Ta (@patrickta) on

Joan Smalls

#JoanSmalls #Met2017 #hairXandrew

A post shared by Andrew Fitzsimons (@andrewfitzsimons) on

Brie Larson

"The magic is in the details." Regram from @rachelgoodwinmakeup #metgala #narsissist

A post shared by @narsissist on

Kate Hudson and Stella McCartney

Golden Slumbers #Fashion #MetBall2017 ?

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

Emma Roberts

Claire Danes

Nicki Minaj

Janelle Monae

@janellemonae #METgala ❤ #HairByNikkiNelms

A post shared by Hair MacGyver ?????????? (@nikkinelms) on

Lori Harvey

Behind The Scenes #details with @lori_harvey_ for #metgala #metgala2017 #robertectorphotography

A post shared by Robert Ector (@robertector) on

Halle Berry

Calm before the Met. #MetGala

A post shared by Halle Berry (@halleberry) on

Madonna

Doutzen Kroes

Excited for tonight's #metgala ? #metkawakubo

A post shared by Doutzen Kroes (@doutzen) on

Kate Bosworth

I'd recognize that tattoo anywhere… @patidubroff ❤️? #metprep

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) on

Allison Williams

Ashley Graham

??? @andrewfitzsimons @allanface #nailsbymarysoul @opi_products @HM

A post shared by Celebrity Manicurist (@nailsbymarysoul) on

Lily Aldridge

? @lilyaldridge ? @lamarquenyc ? @quinnmurphy ?? @brycescarlett @Morocanoil #arganeveryday #metgala2017

A post shared by Bryce Scarlett (@brycescarlett) on

Miranda Kerr

My #1 beauty product: KORA Organics Noni Glow Face Oil ❤️ #noniglow @koraorganics

A post shared by Miranda (@mirandakerr) on

Liu Wen

 

More Beauty & Grooming