Photo by Brian Simon/ George Pimentel Photography

TIFF 2019: Inside the Artists for Peace & Justice Gala

Susan Sarandon, Dakota Johnson and the Scott Brothers all showed up in support of a good cause.

Now in its 11th year, the Artists for Peace and Justice (APJ) Gala continues to celebrate individuals making a difference in their communities across Canada and internationally, while raising funds for APJ’s ongoing community development work in Haiti. The gala, held at the Windsor Arms Hotel, was co-chaired by Natasha Koifman and Suzanne Boyd, and co-hosted by an influential team including Susan Sarandon and George Stroumboulopoulos. Susan Sarandon presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Norman Jewison, founder of the Canadian Film Centre, for his immense contribution to cinema and the arts. Robbie Robertson and Janet Zuccarini were also in attendance to present the Canadian Changemaker Award to Diane Bald and Michael Budman for their unwavering support for community-related causes, charities and organizations in Canada and around the world.  Arcade Fire’s Régine Chassagne performed at the event, which was attended by Dakota Johnson, Jonathan and Drew Scott, Stephan James and more big names from across the media and entertainment spectrum.