Photography via CBC

The 2019 Canadian Screen Awards Nominees Have Been Announced

Each year, the Canadian Screen Awards (CSA) commemorate the very best of Canadian film and television, and today the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television announced the 2019 nominees. Coming-of-age drama Anne With An E and hysterical comedy Schitt’s Creek are in the lead, both having accumulated a total of 15 nominations each. Since they’re both distributed by Netflix, they’re not just gaining hype in Canada, but also across the globe.

Some other noteworthy nominations include the climate change documentary Anthropocene for Best Feature-Length Documentary. Crafted by Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier and Edward Burtynsky, the film uncovers the severe impact that humans continue to have on the planet.

Jazmin Mozaffari is up for Best Director for her drama Firecrackers, which was produced with a predominantly female cast. The film originated from a short that she produced as her thesis while attending Ryerson University. It stars award-winning actress Michaela Kurminsky and Karena Evans, who is known for directing the music videos for Drake hits God’s Plan, Nice For What and In My Feelings.

Sara Mishara scored two nominations in the Cinematography category for her work on the unsettling thriller Allure, which stars Evan Rachel Wood, and the French- and English-language drama The Great Darkened Days, which is also nominated for Best Motion Picture.

The Hummingbird Project, starring Salma Hayek, Jesse Eisenberg and Alexander Skarsgard also garnered a few nominations. Emmanuel Fréchette is up for Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design, Arthur Tarnowski and Nicolas Chaudeurge are up for Achievement in Editing, and Yves Gourmeur is nominated for Achievement in Music – Original Score.

Indo-Canadian director Deepa Mehta, whose films have received numerous nominations and awards, including an Oscar nomination for her 2005 film Water, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. She is renowned for her artistic storytelling and carefully crafted work, through which she relentlessly pushes boundaries. As a Canadian making waves globally, Stephan James, star of If Beale Street Could Talk, will receive the inaugural Radius Award. He won the 2017 CSA award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role for his film Race and was a 2019 Golden Globe nominee for his performance in the HBO series Homecoming.

Here is the complete list of nominees:


Best Motion Picture

Family First
A Colony
The Great Darkened Days
Just a Breath Away

Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design

Marie-Claude Gosselin
Patricia McNeil
Inigo Navarro
Elisa Sauve
Emmanuel Fréchette

Achievement in Cinematography

Sara Mishara
Ian Lagarde
Sara Mishara
Paul Sarossy
Daniel Grant

Achievement in Direction

Sophie Dupuis
Jasmin Mozaffari
Genevieve Dulude-De-Celles
Maxime Giroux
Daniel Roby

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Theodore Pellerin
Michael Rowe
Paul Nutarariaq
Martin Dubreuil
Brandon Oakes

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Richard Clarkin
Paul Doucet
Jacob Whiteduck-Lavoie
Paul Ahmarani
Michel Robin

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Bridgette Poupart
Emelie Bierre
Carla Turcotte
Valeria Henríquez
Rose-Marie Perreault

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Anna Lambe
Irlande Cote
Sarah Gadon
Romane Denis
Kate Moyer


Best Drama Series

Frankie Drake Mysteries
Bad Blood
Anne with an E
Blood and Water

Best Comedy Series

Schitt’s Creek
Working’ Moms
Second Jen
Mr. D

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series

Master Chef Canada
The Amazing Race Canada
Big Brother Canada
Knock Knock Ghost
Canada’s Smartest Person Junior

Best Direction, Drama Series

Jeff Woolnough
Peter Settings
Norma Bailey
Daniel Grou
Helen Shaver

Best Direction, Comedy

Daniel Levy, Andrew Cividino
Sturla Gunnarsson
Catherine Reitman
Jacob Tierney
Tracey Deer

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series

Melanie Scrofano
Kristin Kreuk
Caroline Dhavernas
Wendy Crewson
Amybeth McNulty

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series

Jerry O’Connell
Yannick Bisson
Eric McCormack
Kim Coates
Aaron Ashmore

Special Awards

Deepa Mehta
Stephan James
Mary Walsh
Kids In The Hall
Elizabeth Klinck
Kevin Tierney
Roman Bittman
Carole Vivier
Brad Wright

For the full list of nominees, head to